top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureEmily McNamee

Recipe: Air Fryer Potato Wedges

I have tried half a dozen recipes off Pinterest to achieve the most perfect wedges. No such luck. Every one I tried I ended up with a burnt looking potato that was still pretty hard on the inside after 25 minutes of cooking -- annoying. So I decided to experiment on my own, and success!


What you'll need:

Air Fryer: We have the Instant Pot Vortex Plus, & I love it because it's a 7-in-1 and replaced our toaster oven also so we don't have tons of appliances on the counter. I also used the rotating basket that comes with it.

Russet potatoes:I used 2 medium sized, and it made 16 wedges.

Olive Oil: You can use any oil you want, this is just what I had.

Spices: Salt, pepper, Mrs. Dash: original blend, and garlic powder. This is a combination I really liked, but you can obviously season them however the heck you want.

Ziplock Bag: I used this to coat the pieces with the oil and seasoning, you can use a bowl, I just

hate doing dishes.


So how did I make these beautiful little wedges? Let's jump in!


Step One: Wash and cut your potatoes into wedges. I did this by cutting the potato in half, and then into quarters. There were a few recipes that said you could let them soak to get rid of excess starch, but I was hungry and didn't care to take the time to do that.

Step Two: Place your pieces in a ziplock bag ( I use the gallon size), then drizzle in the oil, and go to town with your spices. After everything is in the bag, close it tightly and shake it around. I shake a little, then use my hands outside the bag to give a little extra

movement, you just wanna make sure all the potatoes have some flavor to them.

Step Three: Preheat to 400 degrees.

Step Four: Dump potatoes into a microwave safe bowl. -- This is the key to getting them to be soft

in the center and crunch on the outside! Microwave for 3 minutes. If you're doing a

larger batch I recommend doing 3 minutes, stirring them and another 2-3 minutes. The

wedges should be soft when you take them out.

Step Five: At this point your air fryer should be preheated. Take the wedges and put the into the

rotating basket, (If you're using a regular air fryer, just put them in the basket). Make

sure you have the crumb tray on the bottom of your vortex, some of the seasoning is

going to fall off with the constant rotation, and that is not a mess anyone wants to

clean up. Set the timer for 15 minutes. Make sure you actually hit "rotate" when

you put them in. If you don't have vortex, stop them about half way through and give

them a good shake.

Step Six: When the timer is done, you'll have nice golden on the outside, but soft on the inside

potato wedges. Enjoy!



36 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page